Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Stock Code: 0017)

CLOSURE OF REGISTER OF MEMBERS

The board of directors (the "Board") of New World Development Company Limited (the "Company") has on 8 October 2009 resolved to recommend a final dividend of HK\$0.21 per share for the year ended 30 June 2009 comprising a cash dividend of HK\$0.01 per share and a scrip dividend equivalent to HK\$0.20 per share with a cash option to shareholders of the Company as registered at the close of business on Wednesday, 9 December 2009.

The register of members of the Company will be closed from Wednesday, 2 December 2009 to Wednesday, 9 December 2009, both days inclusive, during which period no transfer of shares will be effected. In order to qualify for the proposed final dividend, all transfers accompanied by the relevant share certificates must be lodged with the Company's share registrars, Tricor Tengis Limited, at 26/F., Tesbury Centre, 28 Queen's Road East, Hong Kong not later than 4:00 p.m. on Tuesday, 1 December 2009.

By Order of the Board **Leung Chi-Kin, Stewart** *Company Secretary*

Hong Kong, 8 October 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of the Company comprises (a) six executive directors, namely Dato' Dr. Cheng Yu-Tung, Dr. Cheng Kar-Shun, Henry, Dr. Sin Wai-Kin, David, Mr. Liang Chong-Hou, David, Mr. Leung Chi-Kin, Stewart and Mr. Cheng Chi-Kong, Adrian; (b) four non-executive directors, namely, Mr. Cheng Kar-Shing, Peter, Mr. Chow Kwai-Cheung, Mr. Liang Cheung-Biu, Thomas and Ms. Ki Man-Fung, Leonie; and (c) four independent non-executive directors, namely Mr. Yeung Ping-Leung, Howard, Dr. Cha Mou-Sing, Payson (alternate director to Dr. Cha Mou-Sing, Payson: Mr. Cha Mou-Zing, Victor), Mr. Ho Hau-Hay, Hamilton and Mr. Lee Luen-Wai, John.